Cauliflower “Breadsticks”

I love bread. That’s probably why I got fat. I mean, have you guys ever seen a 13 year old eat the whole basket of bread sticks in Olive Garden without blinking an eye. Well I have and that’s because the restaurant had a mirror. Anyways, now that it’s been almost a year since I quit my oily, cheesy, bread habit and so I decided to, why not, make myself some bread sticks. With cauliflower. Don’t knock it till ya try it, that’s what my mom always said. Well, now that I think of it, she was probably saying that just to get me to eat vegetables. Ugh mom, celery still tastes like green.

Anyways, may I present to you guys, cauliflower breadsticks.


Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of cauliflower 
  • 1.5 oz Mozzerella (I used Trader Joes lite)
  • 1 egg white

Recipe:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Rice your cauliflower in a blender or food processor and then microwave the cauliflower in a covered dish for 10 min and then uncover it and microwave for 2 more min. Let cool, and then squeeze all the water you can out. As much as you possibly can. Then, mix it together in a bowl with the egg white and Mozzerella and spread it on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 18 min and then let it sit in the oven for an additional 5 or so. I burnt mine since I was watching Harry Potter and was too engrossed in the film to hear my oven go off. Anyways, take out and serve warm with marinara. Additionally, you could add more Mozzerella and broil for 3-4 min to make cheesy breadsticks. 

Nutritional Info:

197 calories, 20 grams protein, 9 grams of fiber, and a ton of vitamin C

Leave a Reply

