Broccoli and Cheddar Casserole

Broccoli and cheddar is like a combo made in heaven. And I read on a shady website that mozzarella goes with cheddar. Now let me tell you something. If you don’t like cheese, kindly exit. Cuz it’s about to get cheesy here. Real damn cheesy. 

I still suck at taking food photos but cmon. That cheese looks good. Stare into its yellow eyes and try not to fall in love. Sorry, the cheese is taken. By me. Deal with it. Or buy another one from the store. Your choice. All I’m saying is, cheese should be illegal. They say sugar is addicting, look at cheese. Cheese could be used as currency. I’ll take a steak medium rare please. Here’s my payment, 2 oz of cheese. The world would be a happier place.

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz broccoli
  • 1 tsp white whole wheat flour (4 grams)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 14 grams Parmesan 
  • 42 grams mozzarella cheese (I use trader joes lite)
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 oz cheddar cheese (I use Sargentos reduced fat)

Recipe:

So first take your broccoli and add it to a bowl. Add a lil bit o water to the bottom, cover, and microwave for 5 min. To prepare your cheese sauce, melt your butter on medium heat. Add your flour and mix to combine. Add in your milk and allow mixture to thicken. Then add your Parmesan and mozzarella and turn off the heat. Stir until melted then season with salt, pepper, and onion powder (not necessary but improves taste). Take your broccoli and mix it with your cheese sauce. Place in a casserole dish and top with your cheddar cheese. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes, and serve hot. Or cold. Or frozen. It doesn’t matter, it’ll taste good any way. Except if you don’t eat it. Then it’s gonna taste like air. Which to be honest isn’t super tasty.


Yellow. Oooooooh. Yellow reminds me of gold and gold reminds me of cheese. It’s a delicious cycle. Of awesomeness.

Nutrition:

375 calories, 28 grams of protein, 300% vitamin C, 7 grams fiber

Cheese > Life

If they turned Harry Potter World into Cheeseworld, I would be so happy. And I would cry. My love is divided between Harry and Cheese. Does that make me a two timer? Yes. But cheese. Cheese makes it all ok.

One thought on “Broccoli and Cheddar Casserole

Leave a Reply

