Broccoli and Blue Cheese Casserole

Moldy cheese. That sounds appetizing. Actually it is because blue cheese is basically moldy cheese. I think that’s why it’s blue. I’m not sure I’m too lazy to research it. Feel free to google it though. Or yahoo it if your like 80 years old. No offense intended yahoo users. Anyways, blue cheese is real salty, almost as salty as the kid I beat in a Minecraft duel.  And mozzarella is like the perfect base of any cheese sauce which is how I came up with this delicious cheesy bake. Oh yeah, I also added broccoli but who cares because….. cheeeeese.
Oh yeah, look at that blue cheese. Bluer than Violet after she ate that 3 course meal gum. Ladies and gentleman, allow me to present the recipe for this cheesy wonder. And please don’t eat your phone screen cause then you won’t know that recipe. And we wouldn’t want that now would we. Well maybe your heart led. But wait, remember the broccoli? Yea this baby’s healthy central.

Ingredients: 

  • 8 oz broccoli
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp flour (I used white whole wheat)
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 42 grams mozzarella (I used Trader Joes lite)
  • 5 grams Parmesan 
  • 1 oz blue cheese

Recipe:

So first, preheat your oven to 425 Fahrenheit. Microwave your broccoli in a bowl for 4-5 min or until tender. To make the cheese sauce, melt your butter on medium. Add your flour and mix to combine, then add your milk. Let it thicken, stirring occasionally, and then turn off the heat and add your Parmesan and mozzarella along with around 10 grams of blue cheese. Mix till melted, then add in your broccoli and mix until combined. 

I’m getting hungry…. Well I’m always hungry but anyways….

Place into a casserole dish and top with the remaining blue cheese, then bake for 15 minutes. 


If heaven was blue, this is what it would be.

Nutrition:

351 calories, 22 grams of protein, 300% vitamin C

Blue cheese, will you marry me? I have a chicken wing ring for you if you say yes.

Leave a Reply

