Green Lentil Pasta with Broccoli

I wish I were Italian. Then I would, for one, have an awesome Italian accent and, two, get to eat pasta all day. Now sadly, I’m not Italian but I do have access to pasta. Well, crappy grocery store pasta but hey, it counts! However, since I actually started reading the labels on products, I haven’t been able to bring myself to eat pasta. It’s just so carb filled, so little protein, and seriously, HOW IS 2 OZ A SERVING SIZE?!? I need AT LEAST 4 oz to be satisfied. But apparently a God exists because one day my mom came home with this.
That’s right, lentil pasta. Made with lentil flour, these babies are chock full of fiber and protein. And they ACTUALLY have a more reasonable serving size. 

Now I posted a recipe for Black Bean Rotini with Vegetables a while ago and the pasta had a very beany taste. This pasta tastes just like normal pasta. I kid you not. Its like money in my non-Italian tummy.

Anyways, I decided to go full out health on this dish and add broccoli and wow did this dish turn out swelltastic. Absolutely swellirific.

Yea, doesn’t look amazing but trust me, it tastes amazing. That’s my motto haha. My food may look ugly but hell is it tasty!

Ingredients: 

  • 2 oz green lentil pasta
  • 8 oz broccoli
  • Olive oil spray
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 tbsp garlic powder

Recipe:

Preheat your oven to 425 and coat your broccoli in Olive oil spray. Roast for 20-25 min or until crispy but not burnt. To prepare the pasta, bring a pot of water to a boil on high heat. When it’s boiling, toss in your pasta and turn the heat down to medium. Boil for 10-11 minutes or until tender and not too grainy. Take your pasta and broccoli and toss in a pan. Add your Olive oil, garlic powder, salt, and pepper and mix to combine.


And this recipe is vegan too! Well it was till I added grated Gruyere on top.

Sorry not sorry. But it can totally be vegan if you just, ya know, don’t add the cheese on top. It honestly wasn’t necessary and it woulda maybe tasted better without. Whatever, it looks better with cheese. Everything does.

Nutrition:

337 calories, 18 grams of protein, 11 grams of fiber, 180% vitamin C, 700 mg potassium

I made pasta a health food. Chef Harry Potter amirite?

One thought on “Green Lentil Pasta with Broccoli

Leave a Reply

